RSS

My repentance has been granted

05 Jul

When you hear about the Holy Spirit descending, you probably think about Pentecost in Acts chapter 2.  I wouldn’t expect you to think about anything else.  But, this morning I spent my quiet time in Acts 10-11, and I was reading about the Holy Spirit falling down on to the Gentiles.  Up until this point, the Holy Spirit had only been granted to Israel; up until this point, repentance had only been granted to those from Israel!  

I’ll tell you why this means so much to me.  My blood line is not Jewish, therefore, I am not Israeli.  I AM A GENTILE.  This means that I was not covered by the law.  I needed to have the assurance of the Holy Spirit, the gift from Christ that is given to all who believe.  Act 10:44-48 marks the giving of this gift to the Gentiles, and is such a gracious act on the behalf of The Father.

  “While Peter was still saying these things, the Holy Spirit fell on all who heard the word.  And the believers from among the circumcised who had come with Peter were amazed, because the gift of the Holy Spirit was poured out even on the Gentiles.  For the were hearing them speaking in tongues and extolling God.  Then Peter declared, “Can anyone withhold water for baptizing these people, who have received the Holy Spirit just as we have?”  And he commanded them to be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ.”

In this passage lies the very reason I may rejoice in the Lord.  The fact that the Holy Spirit has been granted to both Jew and Gentile is so amazing.  For, God’s people were the Israelites, but God, out of his grace and mercy, has extended redemption to all people!  So, as you go through your day today, remember the Lord’s mercy on your life; also, find comfort in the declaration of Israel in Acts 11:18.

“When they heard these things they fell silent.  And they glorified God, saying, “Then to the Gentiles also God has granted repentance that leads to life.”” 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “My repentance has been granted

  1. justintweito

    July 5, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    I am pretty sure that some Gentiles were granted repentance and are a part of the “Hall of Faith” as some Bibles call it. Like Rahab. And the centurion from the Gospels. But they all did not recieve the Holy Spirit until pentecost. So you were right about that from my understanding. But this is a legit post!

     

Leave a Reply

 
