RSS

How do you view Jesus?

28 Jun

You may not think that your view of Jesus is that important.  You may think that as long as you go to church, pray to God, treat others right, and obey the teachings of the Bible that you’ll be okay.  I mean, you’re doing all the little things right aren’t you?  You’re doing your best to live a good life!  You’re doing everything you possibly can to do what Jesus taught!  So, you should be covered, right?  Not necessarily.

In Matthew 26:20-25 we see how your view of Jesus determines your salvation.

 When it was evening, [Jesus] reclined at the table with the twelve.  And as they were eating, he said, “Truly, I say to you, one of you will betray me.”  And they were very sorrowful and began to say to him one after another, “Is it I, Lord?”  He answered, “He who has dipped his hand in the dish with me will betray me.  The Son of Man goes as it is written of him, but woe to that man by whom the Son of Man is betrayed!  It would have been better for that man if he had not been born.”  Judas, who would betray him, answered, “Is it I, Rabbi?”  He said to him, “You have said so.”

In this text we see Jesus partaking in the Passover with his twelve disciples.  We see Jesus prophesy that one of his disciples would betray him.  But, what is commonly overlooked in this text is how Judas viewed Jesus.  He addresses Jesus as Rabbi, while every other disciple addresses him as Lord.  This may not seem like much, but it makes all the difference.  What these words mean will make this much clearer.  Rabbi, which translates to teacher, means one who instructs.  Lord, as defined by Webster Dictionary, means one who has all power and authority.

This brings me back to the question, how do you view Jesus?  Do you view him as an Instructor and Teacher, or do you view him as one who has all power, and all authority over your life.  For the majority of my own life I viewed Christ as “Rabbi”, and I thought I was fine.  But, when it was revealed to me that Jesus was Lord, and I turned my life over to him, my whole life changed.  From that moment on I had clarity in the word, and I have since longed to serve my Lord Jesus Christ through everything I do.

So, as you consider the question, how do you view Jesus?  I hope that you consider that Judas only saw him as teacher, and it led to destruction and betrayal.  I urge you to begin viewing Jesus Christ as Lord, if you do not already.  For only by his power and authority can you be saved, and you can only be saved by giving him all power and authority over your life.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
